Cordova District Library

Minutes of the Regular Meeting

Of the Board of Trustees

November 11, 2014


The meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by Debra Hart, Vice President.    

Trustees in attendance:  Deb Deines, Byron Kurkowski, Karen Lonergan and Bruce Wood.   Merredith Peterson and Cheryl Lennox/Head Librarian, were absent.

Sue Hebel/Library Director was in attendance. 


The minutes from the previous meeting were presented. Karen Lonergan made a motion to accept the minutes as read and was seconded by Deb Deines.   Motion carried.  


Sue Hebel thanked the board members for attending Gene Krukow ‘s visitation.  He passed away November 7, 2014. 



TREASURER’S REPORT:  Byron Kurkowski presented the financials for the month.   Deb Deines made a motion to accept the Treasurer’s report and pay the bills.   Karen Lonergan seconded.  Motion carried.


            BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the payments made by the District, under the signatures of the President, Treasurer, or Director, as detailed in the Financial Report presented and approved as necessary to meet the obligations of the District in timely manner.


DIRECTOR’S REPORT:   Sue Hebel reported:

eRead Illinois—Delegates Assembly-- all library Directors voted to participate in eRead Illinois so RAILS will reimburse 30% of the cost for this eBook service.


Exelon Community Meeting—Exelon will host an Open House for community members to tour the simulator at the plant and their staff will answer any question the public may have.  Exleon encourages us to join the Nuclear Power Illinois coalition to show support for Quad City Station.


Sue shared statistics put out by PrairieCat staff about circulation, patron count, and items in PrairieCat.









The library received an invoice in the amount of $1000.00 from the Village of Cordova for the sidewalk repair. In the spirit of co-operation Deb Deines made a motion to pay the bill, Karen Lonergan seconded.  Roll Call vote:   Karen Lonergan- yes, Debra Hart-yes, Deb Deines- yes, Bruce Wood- no, Byron Kurkowski- no.  Motion passed.


Deb Deines made a motion to pass the Tax Levy, Byron Kurkowski seconded.  Roll call vote:   Bruce Wood- yes, Byron Kurkowski-yes, Deb Deines-yes, Debra Hart-yes, Karen Lonergan-yes.  Motion passed.

Financial Strategic Plan: No report



Personnel Strategic Plan:   No report   


POLICY:  No report

Policy Strategic Plan:  No report



Building & Ground Strategic Plan:  No report



Technology Strategic Plan:  No report







The next meeting will be on Tuesday December 16, 2014 at 4:30 p.m.   



A motion was made by  Deb Deines   and seconded by Byron Kurkowski  to adjourn the meeting.   Motion carried. 


Respectfully Submitted,


Sue Hebel